(News Release from the office of Governor George W. Bush)

AUSTIN, TEXAS - On April 19, 2000, Governor George W. Bush named Cynthia S. Vaughn, D.C., of South Austin, as President of the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (TBCE) for an unspecified term. The change in leadership will be effective on May 18, 2000 thus making Dr. Vaughn the first female doctor of chiropractic to serve as TBCE president.

Originally from California, Dr. Vaughn has resided in Austin since 1988, and has practiced in South Austin since 1989. She graduated summa cum laude from the Los Angeles College of Chiropractic in 1984, and has served as a board member since July of 1997. During her tenure with the TBCE, she has served as Chairperson of the both the Technical Standards and Rules Committees, and has been the board vice-chair since the summer of 1999.

The TBCE is a 9-member Board, consisting of 6 duly licensed doctors of chiropractic and 3 public members whose sole function is to regulate the practice of chiropractic in the State of Texas. The Governor appoints all members, and each serves staggered 6-year terms.

Go to next Press Release

Email the Austin Chiropractic Center

1120 S. Capital of Texas Highway, Building #1 - Suite 250
Austin, TX 78746
Telephone (512) 445-3366